Afriad to Sleep

Last night conscious death eluded me
Snatched away just before the numbing
Fear of shadows dressed in camouflage
Demons waiting to take my body
Leaving my soul to wonder forever
Green yellow and gold raindrops burn my skin
Red, white and blue fog stifle my existence
Spirits on fire with patriotism
Innocence alight in the orange glow
Creeping in the dusk, laying low at sunrise
Spitting fireworks from the hip
Venom of indoctrination from the lips
Only for love of the world
Hoping that this love sets the world free.

Leave a Reply

