Banana Trance

It is early morning, like 2am, I had just came back from the local rumshop, not drunk, just tired from running around. I opened the door and walked into the living room. I did not turn the light on for fear of waking Mommy Charles up. I was breaking one of her rules, never come in after midnight. I struggled ti take my shoes off in the dark, hopping around making more noise than I wanted to. I stumped my foot on the centre table, hissed a little, my toes throbbing with pain. I shushed myself and listened, no Mommy Charles. I tiptoed towards the kitchen, got to the door and stopped, took a deep breath. Looks like mommy Charles had gone into the garden in the back yard and picked some fresh bananas. I closed my eyes and inhaled. I loved the smell of fresh, ripe bananas, reminded me of going up to the countryside to visit family. Ahhh that smell permeated the village.Standing there in the dark, it felt like i was standing in the middle of a plantation, a slight breeze sweeping through it, the banana leaves whistling a little, goats bleated somewhere in the dark, an own hooted in the nearby mango tree. I stood there, hypnotized by my imagination and the scent of the bananas. Suddenly it was bright. i opened my eyes and looked down at the bowl of bananas. I felt as if someone was looking at me. I slowly turned around and I came face to face with an angry Mommy Charles. I should have gone straight to bed and not get emtranced by the scent of those bloody bananas.

Leave a Reply

