I want me Coconut Water

Ohhh the days when I was young, I would go to the beach sit in the sunshine and look out at the ocean. All that tropical heat made me thirsty, oh what will have ever drink to quell this nagging thirst. Oh yes, how about some coconut water, but how can I get that. I stood underneath the coconut tree. Damn it was tall. I say about Twenty feet maybe more. I had never climbed one before, but damn it I wanted coconut water.  Then I thought, hey, I can climb up there, get me a couple of them and bam, my thirst quenched. I hesitated, man that was tall, but you know how it is, a fourteen year old boy, wanting to prove he was a man. I grabbed the trunk of the tree, shimmered up about two feet and stopped. I felt myself slowly begin to slide down so i wrapped my legs around the trunk. I felt the rough surface of the trunk dig into my skin. My feet hit the sand, the inside of my legs burning.  I looked around to make sure no one saw my clumsiness. Looked up at the beautiful green coconuts, no doubt they had some real sweet water in them. I jumped on the trunk, hugging it and began to pull myself up. At ten feet I stopped, damn it i thought, did not believe ten feet could look so far up. I kept going ascending, at fifteen feet I was burning up, sweat poured down my forehead getting into my eye. They stung really bad but I was too afraid to let go of the trunk for fear of falling. A nice cool breeze whirled around me, I closed my eyes and let the cool air tickle my skin. I took a deep breath and pulled myself up, was so hot I stopped to feel that gentle breeze again. I closed my eyes, only this time, only this time it was not a gentle breeze. The coconut tree rocked back and forth. In my mind I can hear it cracking as the gusts whistled through the leaves. I hung out feeling a little nauseous. I wanted to slide down, get to the safety of the ground, but I was so close to the coconuts I could smell them. I opened my eyes, I felt like I was parachuting, only I was not descending, I was being blown from side to side. I took a deep breath, looked down, the bloody beach was moving. I looked up at the coconuts, I tried stretching to get on, thats when it happened, I rubbed against the tree trunk and the button that was holding up my [pants popped out and my pants started slipping off. So here I was, twenty feet above the ground trying to make a decision, pull up my pants or get that damn coconut, I decided to get my damn coconuts, hell, I will quench my thirst and my bum will be cool. I was able to knock down three of the coconuts. I slide down, I tell you, sand never felt so good under my feet. As I sat drinking my coconut water I promised myself, no matter how thirsty I got, the next time I will walk myself back to the house and get as glass of water.

Leave a Reply

