Christmas Is Comming

Growing up on the island, back in a day, the two distinct scents were paint and apples. Weird combination huh? Well the paint because every Christmas it was redecorating time. We sewed new curtains, some got new furniture, new kitchen wares, I mean all kinds of new things for the house, and the best part for me was the painting, I mean all kinds of bright colours. The drawing room, the kitchen, the bedrooms all got brand new paint jobs. Yellow, blue, green, I mean we made sure the house looked like a brand new rainbow. The sent of paint lasted for days I tell you. You may wonder why the scent of apples is one of the memories. Well back then we got apples only around Christmas time. Ohhh how I loved them apples, we only got the red ones, big juicy, sitting in a bamboo bowl in the center of the dining table. It was a ritual for me. Watching Mommy Charles take them out of the brown paper bag, going to the cubbard and getting the bowl, stacking the apples into it like a fruit pyramid, yes, I could not wait to sink my teeth into them. Later that day, the whole house would smell like apples. i used to sit in the kitchen close my eyes and inhale. Ohh yes, i can smell it now, apples and paint meant Christmas was right around the corner.

Leave a Reply

