Haloween, Whats that?

My first Halloween in America, I was walking back to my dorm when all of a sudden I heard an evil laugh. At first I was confused. How can such an evil laugh from what sounded like a little girl. All of a sudden, out of the dark, a frightful little person darted around the corner, she was wearing a black dress and a black hat with a peak. Her face was smudged with some kid of black stuff as she stopped and looked up at me. She smiled up at me,

“I will get you my pretty she screamed! Then ran of, I looked at her puzzled, that was when I heard a grown up voice,

“Happy Halloween!”she said, holding the hand of a two year old who looked like he had just woke up from hundreds of years sleeping in his grave. I shook my head and kept walking muttering to myself,

“Whats up wid dese crazy Yankees, what are dey up to now?” I kept walking turned the corner into a residential neighbourhood and stopped short as I found myself in a community of characters. I mean there was Mummies, witches, Jumbies, ghosts, you name it they were there. I stopped a little startled. What the hell is going on here? What was even stranger was they were all holding bowls or baskets, they walked up to people’s front doors and the residents would drop something into the bowls, the little monsters and goblins will run from the house screaming with glee. I remember thinking these people have lost it, this is some strange ritual that no one bothered to warn me about.  Why are all the grownups dressed normally and yet all the kids are running around dressed like dead people to the dorm, walked up to one of the other ball players and ask,

“Its Haloween man,” He said, I thought, that lady told me to have a happy one of those, but what is this Halloween. They ad to sit me down to explain. Flash forward to today. Here I am at work, dressed a Papa Jumbie, jumping out at kids, laughing like a madman as they screamed and bolted out of the haunted house created by my fellow workers.

Leave a Reply

