Kentucky Cool

Here i am, standing in front a body of water that is not the ocean. It fall and there is a crispness in the air. Algae green water moved a little like the ocean. The tide pulls branches out, then washes them back to shore. Strange gray coloured fish swims up to the muddy bank and looks at you, as if to say, “What human?” My toes sank into the mud, reminding me of a rainy day on the nutmeg plantation. Ripples cascaded across the water as a canoe glided by. The skies went from a light blue to winter gray, causing the lake’s surface to flash gray around the floating tree limps. I close my eyes and a cold breeze brush against my face, stinging a little.  The island boy in me wanted to jump in, I wanted to go for a swim, but I have learned from experience, swimming in a lake when winter is pending is not the smartest thing to do. So i stood there, listening to the waves, smelling the mountain air. Ahhh yes, another cool, calm day in Eastern Kentucky.

Leave a Reply

