Tropical Hillbilly

Now the curious thing about this tri-state area is that in some ways, it is similar to my country. There are lots of people here whose forefathers came from Ireland or England. Now you may find that hard to believe, but a lot of the language and names mirror that of my country. Smith is popular here and I always thought that was funny because one of my bullies back home was named Smith. Smith is also my ex-wife’s mother’s first husband’s last name (hope you get that). Some words that we use are the same too, like the word tarnation. I said it once and a friend told me that I was becoming acclimated to the Hillbilly language. I asked him why, and he said that the word tarnation is an old Appalachian word. I told him it was not because it could be found in the dictionary. He disagreed and I had to get the dictionary to prove it to him. The truth is, this word was invented by an old British writer and it’s a word we use on the island. Once again, we are not as culturally different as we think we are.

Most of the time I lived in this Wild and Wonderful, I worked at a toy store and what a treat that was. It was a good way to work my way through school. Working there taught me a lot about the people in the town and the surrounding areas. Frankly, some were downright strange. Most of them just followed the culture as best they could. Like me. They had to fit into the world around them. What I am trying to say is, you should treat people like human beings. Culture is the only thing that makes us different and even then, there are more similarities than differences.  

Leave a Reply

