42th Installment of La Diablesse

I started walking round the cave water gushed out of the holes on the walls creating that trickling sound I heard all night. I went by the entrance and for a spilt second I thought of going through it but I sense that there was someone there so I kept walking. On me second pass by the entrance the presence was even stronger so I slowed down and peered into the darkness and just as I was bout to walk away someone grabbed me arm and pushed me to the ground. I tried to get up but Christine emerged from the darkness and sat on me she eyes ablaze with anger as she face materialized into the light. . “Soon you will be mine,” She, said, grinding sheself down on me she fingers wrapped round me neck squeezing. I struggled to breathe but that did not concern of she, she lifted she head she eyes rolling back as she grinded harder she breathed escaping in short bursts of excitement, then she leaned she face closer to mine,

“Ooohhhh yes, soon real soon I will have my way with you, just like all the men I knew two hundred years ago did with me, you may think I hate you but I don’t, I just want them to suffer like I did.” She reached down and pressed she lips against mine only it was not a kiss because she was biting and growling like an angered dog. Then with unrealistic speed she got up pulling me up by the neck and with the strength of two men she threw me across the cave. I landed on me back me head bouncing of the sandy ground but I immediately scrambled to me feet and retreated to the Alter. I looked back in she direction to see if she had followed me but she had melted into the darkness. I sat on the alter trying to compose meself but I was too anxious to sit still so I got up and began walking round the alter feeling like a trapped animal.

A few more days went by and I would lie on the alter looking up at the sky, the sun come up and then later watched the yellow gold slowly disappear wondering what day of the week it was. One late afternoon, when the sun was brightest and the seagulls flew round the opening of the cave and white clouds formed human like shapes in the sky, a La Diablesse walked into the cave she held a silver cup in she hands like a priest holding a cup of wine.

“Drink this,” she commanded pushing the cup at me, I was reluctant and she looked at me with insistent eyes, I slowly took the cup and drank a mouthful of the brown liquid it was real bitter, I mean I almost threw up. I started to put the cup down on the alter,

“All of it” she shouted and I immediately picked up the cup and drank until the silver bottom glittered in the sunlight. Without saying another word she grabbed it from me and walked out of the cave. I sat down on the Alter bewildered me head throbbed contorting me vision like crazy. I lay down and closed me eyes fear over came me as I realized the ceremonies were about to start. The pounding in me head faded away like an echo in the Blue Mountains of Jamaica and I must have passed out because when I woke up the torches were lit and there was bout ten La Diablesse’ standing over me. I blinked trying to clear out me misty vision the yellow lights from the torches bounced off they skin creating devilish like shadows on they faces. They stood in a circle round the Alter each holding a torch, I curled me body up in a futile attempt to protect meself, the leader leaned over me whispering in me ear.

“It is useless to fight us.” She words were like one long hum that caused me skin to tingle like crazy. I slowly stretched meself out leaving me body exposed to them, they stood there looking at me like baby birds about to take their first flying lesson, man they were so beautiful I almost forgot where the hell I was. They faces lit up with anticipation and fear and yet there was something spiritual in the way they stood like parishioners in an ancient temple bout to take they very first communion, the leader spoke breaking the silence.

“Ladies, you are about to embark on one of the many freedoms Erzulie Frieda have given us. We must offer ourselves up to the omnipotent goddess this is your first step to everlasting freedom.’ She raised she hands above she head and chanted in some unknown language she body beginning to shake she eyes rolling back in she head. I lay there wishing they would get started I mean the sooner they were done the sooner I could go about planning me damn escape. She was dancing wildly now she body moving seductively; she hips twirling in a hypnotic circle. Despite meself I was becoming aroused me heart was pounding and that warm feeling right before sex engulfed me whole damn body. I looked away from she and closed me eyes a flash of memories went through me mind, Jane’s smile, Alison’s suspicious expression and Legba John insisting that I believe.

Leave a Reply

