Revolotion )March 13th 1979)

Today marks the anniversary of the Grenadian revolution. On that day I woke up to my mother bursting in screaming “The communist are taking over.” It was the first time I saw real fear in my mother’s eyes. I jumped up and followed her to the living room. The transistor radio was on. The Announcer was screaming instructions at the revolutionaries, letting them know where pockets of resistants’ were. It was strangely quiet, I heard no cars, no voices of children going to school but most of all there was a revolution but no sounds of gunshots, no sound of a war raging. The world seem different, like something, not scary, I did not believe the the islanders would harm anyone, we are not by nature violent, but somehow the would seemed to get just a little grey for me.

Leave a Reply

